- Associated Press - Tuesday, April 1, 2014

NEWTON, Iowa (AP) - Penn State’s David Taylor has won the Dan Hodge Trophy awarded annually to the nation’s top collegiate wrestler.

Taylor also won the award in 2012 and is just the third wrestler to win it more than once.

Taylor’s coach, Cael Sanderson, won from 2000-2002, and Missouri’s Ben Askren won in 2006 and 2007.

Taylor went 34-0 in 2013-14. He also earned bonus points in 32 of 34 matches and had 16 pins in helping lead the Nittany Lions to their fourth straight NCAA title.

Ohio State’s Logan Stieber finished second in the voting, followed by Taylor’s teammate, Ed Ruth.

The Hodge Award is voted on by past winners, select wrestling media and retired college coaches from different regions of the country.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide