- Associated Press - Monday, April 28, 2014

SYDNEY (AP) - Brisbane midfielder Thomas Broich was named Player of the Year in Australian football’s A-League Monday, becoming the first player to win the award for a second time.

Broich received 506 votes from fellow A-League players who voted throughout the season, finishing well ahead of the Melbourne Victory’s James Troisi with 290 votes and Brisbane teammate Luke Brattan with 264.

Newcastle’s Adam Taggart, who was fourth with 243 votes, won the Young Footballer of the Year award and the Golden Boot award for his 16 goals this season.

Brisbane faces Western Sydney in the A-League grand final on Sunday.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide