- The Washington Times - Friday, August 22, 2014

Trent Williams and DeAngelo Hall were named by the Washington Redskins as their players of the year at their 53rd annual “Welcome Home Luncheon” on Friday afternoon at the Gaylord National Resort and Convention Center at National Harbor.

Williams, the offensive player of the year, was named to the Pro Bowl each of the past two seasons. The left tackle helped the Redskins attain the fifth-ranked rushing offense in 2013 and the ninth-ranked offense overall.

Hall, the defensive player of the year, had one of his best seasons with the Redskins. In addition to 78 tackles, the cornerback had four interceptions — two of which resulted in touchdowns — and forced three fumbles.

The team did not honor a special teams player of the year as it has in recent seasons. Washington’s special teams units ranked among the worst in the league in 2013.

Running back Alfred Morris was honored with the the team’s community service award, while quarterback Robert Griffin III was honored with the team’s “salute” award, recognizing his contributions to the military.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide