- Associated Press - Monday, February 3, 2014

TEMPE, Ariz. (AP) - Former Cardinals player Aeneas Williams has become the first player in the team’s history with Arizona to be chosen for the Pro Football Hall of Fame.

Williams was one of seven people chosen at the Hall’s selection committee’s annual meeting.

The announcement was made at the NFL Honors award show in New York City on Saturday.

Ray Guy, the first punter elected, defensive end Michael Strahan, receiver Andre Reed and defensive end Claude Humphrey were also part of the class of 2014. Two first-time eligible players, linebacker Derrick Brooks and offensive tackle Walter Jones, were selected.

Cardinals team President Michael Bidwill says he couldn’t think of a better candidate to become the first from the team’s Arizona era to be honored.

Induction will be on Aug. 1 in Canton, Ohio.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide