- Associated Press - Friday, February 7, 2014

OMAHA, Neb. (AP) - The Big Ten has announced that the conference tournament will have an eight-team field for the first time.

The tournament is May 21-25 at TD Ameritrade Park in Omaha.

The conference said Friday the double-elimination format will culminate with a single championship game, with the winner earning the tournament title and the conference’s automatic berth to the NCAA tournament. The teams will be split into two brackets, with the Nos. 1, 4, 5 and seeds in one bracket and the Nos. 2, 3, 6 and 7 seeds in the other.

The Big Ten tournament has been played annually since 1981, with a four-team field through 1999 and a six-team event from 2000-13.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide