- Associated Press - Monday, January 20, 2014

MELBOURNE, Australia (AP) - France has named top-10 players Jo-Wilfried Tsonga and Richard Gasquet to its Davis Cup team that will take on Lleyton Hewitt and Australia in a World Group first-round match next week.

The French squad, announced Tuesday by captain Arnaud Clement, also includes Gilles Simon, Gael Monfils and Julien Benneteau.

Australian captain Patrick Rafter said his team will include Hewitt, teenagers Nick Kyrgios, Thanasi Kokkinakis and Jordan Thompson, and Chris Guccione. Bernard Tomic was ruled out with a hip injury that caused him to retire from his first-round match at the Australian Open.

The match will be played on clay in La Roche-sur-Yon, France starting Jan. 31.

France is making its 16th consecutive appearance in the World Group, while Australia is returning to the top tier after a seven-year absence.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide