- Associated Press - Tuesday, January 21, 2014

MONTPELIER, Vt. (AP) - The Colchester Police Department is reminding Vermont motorists that a new state law makes it illegal for drivers to use portable electronic devices in work zones.

The law took effect Jan. 1.

The devices that can’t be used in work zones include cellphones, portable music players, GPS, tablet computers, unless they are being utilized with a hand-free feature.

The only exception is when it is necessary to communicate with emergency services in an emergency.

The penalty for a first offense is two points on a driver’s license and a waiver fine of $230. Subsequent offenses carry a five point penalty and fine up to $479.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More

Click to Hide