- Associated Press - Sunday, March 16, 2014

SEATTLE (AP) - Seattle’s three community colleges are losing the “community.”

The Seattle Times reports (https://is.gd/UekVHF ) they’ll now be known as Seattle Central College, South Seattle College and North Seattle College.

It’s part of the evolution of institutions once known as junior colleges. They now have broader missions, including granting bachelor’s degrees.

All three now offer a bachelor’s degree in applied science, with additional third- and fourth-year coursework for students who have completed a two-year technical degree. In the past, that two-year degree was as far as those students could go.

The change was approved Thursday by the board of the Seattle Community Colleges District, which will now be known as Seattle Colleges.

Among the 11 state colleges that now offer bachelor’s degrees, only two still have “community” in their names. Those are Green River and Highline, which only recently began offering bachelor’s degrees.


Information from: The Seattle Times, https://www.seattletimes.com



Click to Read More

Click to Hide