- Associated Press - Thursday, March 27, 2014

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - The Mississippi Senate has unanimously confirmed two members of the state Board of Education and a top administrator in the state Department of Education.

The votes took place Thursday.

Former Clinton Mayor Rosemary Aultman’s term on the board runs through June 2022.

Richard Morrison, an assistant superintendent of Rankin County schools, is serving a term that expires in June 2023.

Aultman was nominated to the nine-member state board by House Speaker Philip Gunn, while Morrison was nominated by Gov. Phil Bryant. They have both been serving while awaiting Senate confirmation.

The Senate confirmed Todd Ivey of Madison as director of the state Department of Education’s office of educational accountability. He was nominated by the Board of Education.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide