- Associated Press - Friday, March 7, 2014

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - Riley Kilbride scored 16 points and Burlington Notre Dame rallied from 12 down in the second half to beat Newell-Fonda 57-54 Friday night and win the Class 1A girls championship.

Kilbride sank the tie-breaking free throws with 11.8 seconds left, then stole the ball to deny Newell-Fonda a final shot at tying or winning the game. That left the top-ranked Mustangs as the state runner-up for the fifth time in five championship game appearances.

Kori Mesecher added 11 points and 13 rebounds for the third-ranked Nikes (24-3).

Season scoring leader Taylor Hickey was held to four points but contributed with five assists and five rebounds.

Claudia Larsen had 17 points and 14 rebounds for Newell-Fonda (24-3), which hurt itself by missing 14 of 25 free throws.

With Larsen scoring inside and guard Rene Maneman running the show, Newell-Fonda led 43-31 midway through the third quarter and appeared well on the way to ending its title game frustration, which included a 63-61 loss to Central Lyon in last year’s state finals.

But Notre Dame got back into the game with a 7-0 run late in the third quarter. It also held Newell-Fonda without a basket for the first 6:15 of the fourth quarter while opening a 54-47 lead, helped by 3-pointers from Kilbride and Courtney Coffin.

Newell-Fonda recovered to tie it at 54 on 3-pointers by Brianna Wells and Tayler Schrank.

But Kilbride drew a foul from Maneman as Notre Dame worked for a basket and made both free throws for a 56-54 lead. Then she made her big steal as Maneman tried to pass the ball into the post and Mesecher hit a free throw to finish it.

Maneman finished with 14 points, six assists and five rebounds and was voted captain of the all-tournament team.

Larsen, Wells, Hickey and Kilbride joined her on that unit, along with Janesville’s Victoria Leyh and Colo-Nesco’s Caitlyn Riese.

Notre Dame lost in the semifinals in its first state tournament appearance last year. It went all the way this time - at the expense of a frustrated Newell-Fonda team.

The Mustangs also finished second in 1997, 2000 and 2008.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide