- Associated Press - Friday, March 7, 2014

SARATOGA SPRINGS, N.Y. (AP) - Two-time Horse of the Year Curlin, his trainer Steve Asmussen and Kentucky Derby-winning jockeys Chris Antley and Craig Perret are among the 10 finalists for election to the National Museum of Racing’s Hall of Fame.

The other finalists announced Friday are jockeys Garrett Gomez and Alex Solis, thoroughbreds Ashado, Kona Gold and Xtra Heat, and trainer Gary Jones.

Antley, who died of a drug overdose in 2000, was also a finalist last year, as were the other three jockeys, Ashado and Jones. Antley won the Derby in 1991 with Strike the Gold and in 1999 with Charismatic. Perret won the 1990 Derby aboard Unbridled.

Trained for most of his career by Asmussen, Curlin’s $10.5 million in purse earnings remain the highest in North American history. He earned Horse of the Year honors in 2007 and ‘08, when Asmussen won the first of consecutive Eclipse Awards for outstanding trainer.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide