- Associated Press - Friday, March 7, 2014

FARGO, N.D. (AP) - North Dakota State’s Taylor Braun is the player of the year in Summit League men’s basketball.

Braun led the league in scoring and was in the top five in assists and rebounds. He scored at least 30 points on four occasions and had two games with at least 10 assists.

Braun and teammate Marshall Bjorklund were voted first team all-conference players. TrayVonn Wright was named to the second team and Lawrence Alexander was honorable mention.

NDSU’s Saul Phillips was named coach of the year in the voting by coaches, sports information directors and media representatives.

The last time the Bison had the player and coach of the year in the Summit was 2009, when point guard Ben Woodside led NDSU to its first NCAA Division I tournament appearance.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide