- Associated Press - Monday, May 12, 2014

JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (AP) - Missouri lawmakers have given final approval to legislation requiring parental consent for children younger than 17 to use commercial tanning beds.

House members approved the bill 103-38 on Monday. It passed the Senate 22-10 last week and goes now to Gov. Jay Nixon.

The measure includes penalties for businesses that allow customers under 17 use tanning beds without parental consent. First-time violators would be fined $100. The fine would increase to $250 for the second violation and to $500 after that.

Supporters say the bill would help protect teens from exposure to ultraviolet rays that can lead to skin cancer. Critics argued the requirement amounts to government intrusion on small businesses.

___

Tanning is HB1411

Online:

Legislature: https://www.moga.mo.gov

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide