- Associated Press - Monday, May 12, 2014

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Mississippi pitcher Chris Ellis and Mississippi State pitcher Ross Mitchell are two of the five finalists for this year’s C Spire Ferriss Trophy.

The award, which is given by the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum, goes to the best college baseball player in Mississippi.

Ellis has an 8-0 record with a 1.96 ERA as the Rebels’ Friday night ace. Mitchell moved to the starting rotation midway through the season and has a 7-4 record with a 1.98 ERA.

Another finalist is MSU reliever Jacob Lindgren, who has a 1.01 ERA and struck out 82 batters over 44 innings. The remaining two finalists are Belhaven pitcher/first baseman Tyler Akins and Ole Miss outfielder Auston Bousfield.

The winner will be announced May 19 at the Hall of Fame.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide