- Associated Press - Tuesday, May 13, 2014

MADRID (AP) - Fernando Torres, David Villa, Alvaro Negredo and Fernando Llorente all were included on Spain’s preliminary 30-man World Cup roster, leaving coach Vicente del Bosque with some difficult decisions to make when the defending champions trim to a final 23.

Pedro Rodriguez and Diego Costa appear assured of spots at forward, and Cesc Fabregas can play up front or in the midfield.

Defender Alvaro Arbeloa, a member of the winning teams at the 2010 World Cup and the 2008 and 2012 European Championships, was left off Tuesday in favor of Real Madrid teammate Dani Carvajal.

Manchester United’s David de Gea gets the third goalkeeper spot in place of injured Victor Valdes, behind No. 2 Pepe Reina and captain Iker Casillas, who is headed to his fourth World Cup.

Juan Mata and Santi Cazorla were among the midfielders selected along with Athletic Bilbao’s Ander Iturraspe, but Isco was left off.

Eighteen of the 23 players from the 2010 World Cup roster were included. Eight play in England, seven with Barcelona, four each with Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid, three in Italy, two in Germany and one apiece with Athletic Bilbao and Sevila.

La Furia Roja plan to announce their final roster May 25.

Spain begins Group B play against the Netherlands on June 13 in a rematch of the 2010 final it won 1-0 in overtime. Chile and Australia also are in the group.

The roster:

Goalkeepers: Iker Casillas (Real Madrid), David de Gea (Manchester United, England), Pepe Reina (Napoli, Italy)

Defenders: Jordi Alba (Barcelona), Raul Albiol (Napoli, Italy), Cesar Azpilicueta (Chelsea, England), Dani Carvajal (Real Madrid), Javi Martinez (Bayern Munich, Germany), Alberto Moreno (Sevilla), Gerard Pique (Barcelona), Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid), Juanfran Torres (Atletico Madrid),

Midfielders: Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich, Germany), Xabi Alonso (Real Madrid), Sergio Busquets (Barcelona), Santi Cazorla (Arsenal, England), Xavi Hernandez (Barcelona), Andres Iniesta (Barcelona), Ander Iturraspe (Athletic Bilbao), Koke (Atletico Madrid), Juan Mata (Manchester United, England), Jesus Navas (Manchester City, England), David Silva (Manchester City, England)

Forwards: Diego Costa (Atletico Madrid), Cesc Fabregas (Barcelona), Fernando Llorente (Juventus, Italy). Alvaro Negredo (Manchester City, England), Pedro Rodriguez (Barcelona), Fernando Torres (Chelsea, England), David Villa (Atletico Madrid)

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide