- Associated Press - Tuesday, May 27, 2014

BILLINGS, Mont. (AP) - Montana has its first national veteran’s cemetery.

The 10.6-acre Yellowstone County Veterans Cemetery in Laurel was dedicated Monday and renamed Yellowstone National Cemetery.

It is the first veteran’s cemetery dedicated as part of the Department of Veterans Affairs’ rural initiative to provide burial access for veterans. It is the only national cemetery in the region that includes Montana, North Dakota, Wyoming, Idaho, Utah and Nevada.

The VA will cover the costs of veterans buried in the Yellowstone National Cemetery.

U.S. Sens. Jon Tester and John Walsh along with U.S. Rep. Steve Daines attended Monday’s ceremonies.

The land was purchased and developed after voters approved a mill levy in 2006. The cemetery opened in 2008.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide