- Associated Press - Wednesday, May 28, 2014

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Former Ole Miss and New Orleans Saints quarterback Archie Manning is the third recipient of the Rube award named for the late executive director of the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame.

Manning follows Boo Ferriss and Ben Puckett as recipients of the award, named for the late Michael Rubenstein.

The presentation will be made at the July 25 at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame banquet in Jackson.

While playing in the NFL, Manning won the Byron “Whizzer” White Humanitarian Award, the Bart Starr Humanitarian Award and the Spirit of Good Sports Award from the National Sportscasters and Sports Writers Association for his contributions off the field.

Manning and his wife, Olivia, received the National Pathfinder Award for their work after Hurricane Katrina.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide