- Associated Press - Tuesday, May 6, 2014

NEW ORLEANS (AP) - Two Louisiana students, both of whom attend Benjamin Franklin Senior High School in New Orleans, have been selected as 2014 U.S. Presidential Scholars.

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan announced the selection Monday of Luke Tang of New Orleans and Sarah Wang of Slidell. They are among the 141 outstanding American high school seniors to earn the designation. They will be honored for their accomplishments in Washington, D.C., June 22-25.

The White House Commission on Presidential Scholars, appointed by President Obama, selects students annually based on their academic success, artistic excellence, essays, school evaluations and transcripts, as well as evidence of community service, leadership, and demonstrated commitment to high ideals.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide