- Associated Press - Tuesday, May 6, 2014

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The Arkansas Department of Higher Education is extending the deadline to apply for and accept financial aid for students in five counties with tornado or flood damage.

The department says students in Faulkner, Independence, Pulaski, Randolph and White counties have until July 1 to apply for and accept financial aid - including the Arkansas Academic Challenge Scholarship. Each county has been declared a disaster area by Gov. Mike Beebe following tornadoes and flooding.

The deadline for students in all other counties remains June 1.

Higher education employees will be at Mayflower and Vilonia high schools through at least Friday to assist applicants. Agency Director Shane Broadway said students unable to enroll in fall classes because of the storms can put scholarships on hold for up to one year.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide