- Associated Press - Wednesday, May 7, 2014

LANSING, Mich. (AP) - Michigan Gov. Rick Snyder has expanded the list of counties declaring states of emergency and disaster because of spring flooding and the winter’s deep freeze.

Snyder directed the Michigan State Police on Wednesday to amend the declarations.

He added six Lower Peninsula counties to the disaster declaration because of flooding since April 12, and eight northern counties to the emergency declaration because of damage stemming from extreme cold.

The disaster declaration now covers the counties of Newaygo, Osceola, Isabella, Mecosta, Missaukee, Muskegon, Roscommon and Wexford. The emergency declaration covers Marquette, Charlevoix, Cheboygan, Chippewa, Delta, Emmet, Gogebic, Luce and Mackinac.

The declarations make state aid and assistance available to affected counties. They also authorize state police to coordinate response and recovery efforts.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide