- Associated Press - Wednesday, May 7, 2014

SALEM, Ore. (AP) - Gov. John Kitzhaber has added a sixth county to the list of drought emergency declarations - Jackson County in Southern Oregon.

Drought emergency declarations allow the state to prioritize use of water for human consumption and livestock, and they enable residents hurt by drought to get federal aid.

Earlier this year, Kitzhaber declared drought emergencies in Crook, Harney, Klamath, Lake and Malheur counties.

Kitzhaber said Wednesday that in a separate drought action, the U.S. Department of Agriculture has designated six Oregon counties as natural disaster areas, making farmers in those and contiguous counties eligible for assistance including emergency loans.

Those six counties are Harney, Jackson, Klamath, Lake, Lane and Malheur.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide