- The Washington Times - Thursday, November 13, 2014

House Republicans on Thursday threw their support behind Speaker John A. Boehner, Ohio Republican, to continue serving in the chamber’s top leadership slot, putting him in position to win a third term to the post when the 114th Congress convenes in January.

House Majority Leader Kevin McCarthy, California Republican and Majority Whip Steve Scalise, Louisiana Republican, were also re-elected to their leadership posts by their colleagues Thursday.

Mr. McCarthy, the former whip, was elevated to majority leader over the summer after the stunning primary loss of former Majority Leader Eric Cantor, Virginia Republican, and Mr. Scalise moved up to fill the whip slot.

Members of the GOP caucus also selected Rep. Cathy McMorris Rogers, Washington Republican, to continue in her post as conference chairman, Rep. Lynn Jenkins, Kansas Republican, as the conference vice chairman, and Rep. Virginia Foxx, North Carolina Republican, as conference secretary.

Rep. Greg Walden of Oregon, who oversaw the House Republicans’ campaign arm during a successful 2014 midterm election cycle, will continue in his role as head of the National Republican Congressional Committee (NRCC).

And Rep. Luke Messer, Indiana Republican, was elected policy committee chairman, replacing GOP Sen.-elect James Lankford of Oklahoma, who successfully won a race to replace retiring Sen. Tom Coburn. Mr. Messer beat out Reps. Tom Reed of New York and Rob Woodall of Georgia.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC. Click here for reprint permission.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide