- Associated Press - Thursday, November 20, 2014

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - The Little Rock Touchdown Club has announced 106 nominees for the second Cliff Harris Award, which will be presented next month to the top defensive player in small-college football.

The list features players from NCAA Division II, NCAA Division III and NAIA schools. Among the nominees is Ouachita Baptist senior defensive end Kyle Lamothe, who helped the Tigers to the school’s first undefeated regular season.

Finalists for the award will be released in two weeks, and the winner will be named on Dec. 24.

Lindenwood University defensive back Pierre Desir won the award last year and was later selected in the fourth round of the NFL draft by the Cleveland Browns.

The award is named for Cliff Harris, who went to Ouachita Baptist before playing professionally for the Dallas Cowboys.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide