- Associated Press - Wednesday, October 1, 2014

FRANKFORT, Ky. (AP) - Four Kentucky public schools and five private have been named 2014 National Blue Ribbon Schools, based on academic excellence.

The Kentucky Education Department says the public schools are Central Elementary in Marshall County, Johnson Elementary of Fort Thomas, Tompkinsville Elementary in Monroe County and Stopher Elementary in Jefferson County.

Education Commissioner Terry Holliday says the schools are models for others across the state.

The five private schools designated in Kentucky are St. Paul Elementary in Florence, St. Agnes School in Louisville, Holy Spirit Elementary in Louisville, St. Patrick Elementary in Louisville and St. Aloysius in Pewee Valley.

There are a total of 337 public and private elementary, middle and high schools recognized this year. A ceremony will be held in November in Washington to recognize the schools.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide