- Associated Press - Thursday, September 18, 2014

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (AP) - Floridians can buy energy saving appliances for the next three days without paying sales taxes.

The Florida Legislature approved the sales tax holiday earlier this year. The tax holiday starts at midnight on Thursday and runs through Sunday.

Florida’s sales tax is 6 percent and local governments usually charge extra.

Consumers do not have to pay the tax on the first $1,500 of energy efficient refrigerators, dishwashers, washers, dryers and air conditioners. Other items that qualify include efficient light bulbs and ceiling fans.

The tax is also waived on toilets, faucets and other items that cut down on water consumption.

The tax break is limited to a single purchase for each item that costs $500 or more. There is no limit for items that are worth less than $500.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide