By Associated Press - Thursday, September 4, 2014

SPARTANBURG, S.C. (AP) - Former Wofford College football players Dane Romero and Andy Strickland, plus all-Southern Conference tennis player Andrew Stubbs, were picked for the school’s Athletic Hall of Fame.

The school also says Harold Chandler, a former starting quarterback and current chairman of the school’s board of trustees, will receive the Distinguished Service Award. In addition, former Wofford athletic director David Wood will receive an Honorary Letterman award.

Romero played from 2005 through 2008, rushing for 1,954 yards and finishing fifth in school history with 32 rushing touchdowns.

Strickland was the team’s top receiver in 2006, 2007 and 2008. He had 34 catches for 656 yards his senior year to help the Terriers reach the NCAA Football Championship Subdivision playoffs.

Stubbs earned all-SoCon tennis honors for all four of his seasons at Wofford.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2021 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide