- Associated Press - Wednesday, April 1, 2015

PIERRE, S.D. (AP) - South Dakota’s Shannon County will officially become Oglala Lakota County on May 1.

County voters last November overwhelmingly approved the move, and this year’s state Legislature passed a resolution to make the name change. Gov. Dennis Daugaard on Wednesday officially proclaimed the new name, a step required by law.

The county currently is named for Peter Shannon, a chief justice of the Dakota Territory Supreme Court who later helped negotiate land deals with the Lakota. Shannon isn’t well thought of among many American Indians.



Click to Read More

Click to Hide