- Associated Press - Tuesday, April 21, 2015

PARIS (AP) - Prize winners at the Cannes Film Festival will be chosen by a jury that includes American actor Jake Gyllenhaal, Mexican director Guillermo del Toro and Canadian filmmaker Xavier Dolan.

Malian musician Rokia Traore is also on the panel, announced Tuesday, along with British actress Sienna Miller, French performer Sophie Marceau and Spanish actress Rossy de Palma, a frequent performer in the films of Pedro Almodovar.

The jury is led by filmmaking brothers Joel and Ethan Coen.

The French Riviera film extravaganza opens May 13 with French director Emmanuelle Bercot’s drama “La Tete Haute” and runs to May 24.

New movies by Gus Van Sant, Nanni Moretti, Jia Zhangke and Jacques Audiard are among the films competing for the festival’s top prize, the coveted Palme d’Or.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide