- Associated Press - Wednesday, April 22, 2015

LITTLE ROCK, Ark. (AP) - Arkansas lawmakers have voted to require a $5 fee be charged to drivers each time they take the written examination for their license.

The bill passed the Senate on a 25-2 vote Wednesday shortly before lawmakers formally adjourned and would change current state law, which only requires the fee be charged for the first three times the written exam is taken. The measure now heading to Gov. Asa Hutchinson’s desk would require the fee also be charged for each subsequent test.

Supporters of the proposal said it would help address a high failure rate on driver’s license exams. Arkansas State Police estimate about 43,000 written tests were administered at no charge last year. The legislation approved Wednesday is expected to raise an additional $215,000 annually for state police.


Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide