- Associated Press - Wednesday, April 22, 2015

NEW YORK (AP) - T. Coraghessan Boyle has won a $30,000 lifetime achievement award for short story writing.

The 66-year-old Boyle is this year’s recipient of the Rea Award, given to authors who make a significant contribution to the art of short story writing.

Prize judges on Wednesday cited the “variety, hilarity, ambition and achieved talent” of his work and called him a “genuine American original.” Boyle’s more than 100 published stories include “Sinking House,” ”Swept Away” and “The Underground Garden.” He is also a highly regarded novelist, most recently of “The Harder They Come,” which came out this year.

Previous winners of the Rea Award include Eudora Welty, Alice Munro and John Updike.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide