- Associated Press - Friday, July 10, 2015

SYDNEY (AP) - The “Triple Crown” of Australia’s major golf tournaments will begin with the Australian Masters from Nov. 19-22 at a yet-to-be- determined sandbelt course in Melbourne.

The PGA Tour of Australasia said Friday that the Australian Open, with American Jordan Spieth expected to return as defending champion, will follow at The Australian Golf Club in Sydney from Nov. 26-29.

The Australian PGA, sanctioned with the European PGA Tour for the first time, will be played at Royal Pines south of Brisbane from Dec. 3-6.

Australian Robert Allenby, in 2005, is the only golfer to have won all three Australian majors in the same year.

Adam Scott came close in 2013 but lost the Australian Open - the final tournament that year - by one stroke to Rory McIlroy.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide