- Associated Press - Monday, July 20, 2015

NEW YORK (AP) - Carlos Santana, Marlon James and Naomi Klein are among the winners of the 36th annual American Book Awards, which celebrate diversity in publishing.

Santana and co-authors Ashley Kahn and Hal Miller were cited Monday for the memoir “The Universal Tone.” James won for his nearly 700-page novel “A Brief History of Seven Killings,” based in part on the attempted assassination of Bob Marley. Klein won for the environmental work “This Changes Everything: Capitalism vs. The Climate.” Poet Anne Waldman, whose books include “The Iovis Trilogy,” was honored for lifetime achievement.

More than a dozen recipients were announced for the American Book Awards, which have no individual categories. The awards are presented by the Before Columbus Foundation, a nonprofit “educational and service organization” founded in 1976 by author-playwright Ishmael Reed.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide