- Associated Press - Tuesday, June 2, 2015

DALLAS (AP) - The first College Football Playoff semifinal will begin at 4 p.m. eastern on New Year’s Eve.

The CFP on Tuesday announced the start times for the semifinals and four other marquee bowl games to be played on New Year’s Eve and New Year’s Day.

The second season of the playoff will be the first in which the semifinals will be played on Dec. 31, a Thursday this year. Last year’s semifinals were played on Jan. 1 at the Rose Bowl and Sugar Bowl and drew record television ratings for ESPN.

This year the semifinals will be played in the Cotton Bowl and Orange Bowl. The order of the games will be announced on Dec. 6 when the pairings are set. The second game is scheduled to begin at 8 p.m. ET.

The Peach Bowl will begin at noon on Dec. 31. The New Year’s Day lineup will be: Fiesta Bowl, 1 p.m. ET; Rose Bowl, 5 p.m. ET; and Sugar Bowl, 8:30 p.m. ET.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More

Click to Hide