- Associated Press - Saturday, May 16, 2015

SALT LAKE CITY (AP) - Three high school seniors in Utah are among 141 students nationwide who have been named U.S. Presidential Scholars.

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan announced that Brianna Ray of Timpanogos High in Orem, Natalya Ritter of Rowland Hall-St Mark’s School in Salt Lake City and Calvin Yu of Hillcrest High in Sandy will be honored in Washington, D.C., in June.

Ritter and Yu were named Presidential Scholars based on academics, while Ray was named a Presidential Scholar in the Arts.

Two students from each state are chosen annually by the White House Commission on Presidential Scholars based on their academic record, essays, community service records and test scores.

Fifteen more students are chosen at-large, and another 20 nationwide are named Presidential Scholars in the Arts.

The program has honored more than 6,000 students since it was created in 1964.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide