- Associated Press - Wednesday, May 27, 2015

Here are the 10 people appointed Wednesday by Republican Gov. Mike Pence and GOP legislative leaders to join Democratic Superintendent of Public Instruction Glenda Ritz as members of the revamped State Board of Education:


- David Freitas, a professor of educational leadership at Indiana University South Bend.

- Gordon Hendry, Midwest regional leader of real estate services company CBRE Inc.’s Public Institutions and Education Solutions Group in Indianapolis.

- Sarah O’Brien, a first grade teacher at River Birch Elementary School in Avon.

- BJ Watts, a sixth grade teacher at Vogel Elementary School in Evansville and former Democratic member of the Evansville City Council.

- Cari Whicker, a Uniondale resident who’s a sixth grade teacher at Riverview Middle School in Huntington.


- Vince Bertram, a Zionsville resident who’s president of Project Lead The Way, which provides K-12 science, technology, engineering and math programs, and former superintendent of Evansville Vanderburgh School Corp.

- Lee Ann Kwiatkowski, a Greenwood resident who is an assistant superintendent at the Warren Township Schools in Indianapolis and was director of school turnaround at the Indiana Department of Education under former Republican state Superintendent Tony Bennett.

- Eddie Melton, manager of federal governmental relations and community relations at Northern Indiana Public Service Co. in Merrillville and a member of the state’s Commission on the Social Status of Black Males.


- Byron Ernest, the head of Hoosier Academies, which operates an online charter school for about 3,000 students in kindergarten through high school. He was also principal of Manual High School in Indianapolis after it was taken over by the state and was the Indiana Teacher of the Year in 2010 while leading the Lebanon Community School’s agriculture and FFA program.

- Steve Yager, who retired in 2014 after five years as superintendent of the Southwest Allen County schools and 19 years leading the Northwest Allen County schools. He was co-chairman with Ritz of a committee that reworked the formula for the A-F grades given to schools.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide