- Associated Press - Tuesday, November 24, 2015

FAYETTEVILLE, Ark. (AP) - Oklahoma quarterback Baker Mayfield, Penn State defensive end Carl Nassib and Washington State quarterback Luke Falk are the three finalists for the Burlsworth Award that’s given annually to the top college football player who began his career as a walk-on.

The award is named for former Arkansas Razorback offensive lineman Brandon Burlsworth and will be presented on Dec. 7.

Mayfield leads the Big 12 Conference in passing touchdowns with 33 this season, and he’s first national in passing efficiency, while Nassib leads the country with 15.5 sacks - including at least one in every game this season.

Falk leads the country in passing yards per game with 387.8, and he’s thrown 36 touchdowns and only eight interceptions.

East Carolina’s Justin Hardy won the award last year.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide