- Associated Press - Sunday, April 10, 2016

NEW YORK (AP) - The NBA says referees were correct in not calling a foul against Golden State on Memphis’ final possession, when a score by the Grizzlies could have ended the Warriors’ bid for a record 73 victories.

Lance Stephenson missed twice in the closing seconds Saturday as the Warriors held on for a 100-99 victory that made them 71-9 with two games remaining. Commentators said Stephenson may have been fouled on the second one, when he launched a contested jumper from the corner that hit the side of the backboard.

But in its review of the last 2 minutes Sunday, the league says that both Klay Thompson and Stephen Curry maintained a legal guarding position on Stephenson’s initial drive. Both players then made contact with Stephenson when he regained the ball and shot his jumper, but the league says that Stephenson created the incidental contact with Thompson by kicking his leg out, and that Curry made only incidental contact with Stephenson after the shot was taken.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.

 

Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide