- Associated Press - Wednesday, April 13, 2016

ORWELL, Vt. (AP) - A Vermont town has rejected a plan for six towns to merge into one school district under Act 46.

Vermont Public Radio reports (https://bit.ly/1MuKQ1w ) the town of Orwell on Tuesday rejected the proposed plan, meaning that the six towns in the Addison Rutland district won’t consolidate. All the towns had to approve the merger for it to move forward.

The Addison Rutland Act 46 Study Committee chairwoman says the district will try for another vote.

Meanwhile, four of six towns in the Lamoille North district have approved a merger under a plan that allows it to move forward with a majority. Schools in Eden, Hyde Park, Johnson and Belvidere will merge.

Act 46 is a state law that encourages school districts to consider merging with their neighbors for greater efficiency.


Information from: WVPS-FM, https://www.vpr.net

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide