- Associated Press - Thursday, April 21, 2016

LONDON (AP) - Title rivals Leicester and Tottenham have four players each in the English Premier League team of the year voted by their fellow professionals.

The quartet from leader Leicester is Wes Morgan, N’Golo Kante, Riyad Mahrez, and Jamie Vardy.

Toby Alderweireld, Danny Rose, Dele Alli and Harry Kane represent Tottenham in the Professional Footballers’ Association team of the year.

The three remaining slots go to Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea, Arsenal full-back Hector Bellerin and West Ham’s Dimitri Payet.

With four games remaining, Leicester has a five-point lead over Tottenham at the top of the standings.

The PFA player of the year is announced on Sunday. The only player on the shortlist not to make the team of the year is Arsenal playmaker Mesut Ozil. The other contenders are Kane, the league’s top scorer, Vardy, Kante, Mahrez, and Payet.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide