- Associated Press - Friday, April 22, 2016

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Mississippi senators have confirmed five people to run state agencies.

Republican Rep. Herb Frierson of Poplarville was approved to become revenue commissioner, leading the state tax collection agency for six years beginning July 1. He will succeed Ed Morgan, a former state senator and Hattiesburg mayor.

Former Tupelo Mayor and Tennessee Valley Authority chairman Glenn McCullough was confirmed to lead the Mississippi Development Authority. He has been serving in the MDA job since June.

Three other agency leaders were confirmed for renewed terms:

- Maj. Gen. Augustus Leon Collins, adjutant general of the Mississippi National Guard, until January 2020.

- Mark Henry, executive director of the Mississippi Department of Employment Security, until January 2020.

- Charlotte Corley, commissioner of the Department of Banking and Consumer Finance, through June 2020.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide