- Associated Press - Wednesday, April 27, 2016

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) - Republicans in the Ohio House are shuffling leaders after two term-limited representatives stepped down from their caucus positions.

House Speaker Cliff Rosenberger says Rep. Kirk Schuring of Canton will serve as majority floor leader and Rep. Sarah LaTourette of Bainbridge Township in northeast Ohio has been named assistant majority whip.

The speaker’s office says the move comes after Reps. Barbara Sears and Rep. Mike Dovilla decided to step down to give two members who were not facing term limits an opportunity to serve in leadership before the session ends this year.

Rep. Dorothy Pelanda of Marysville is currently the assistant majority whip. She was elected majority whip.

The other three leadership posts remain unchanged.

The House is expected to take a formal vote on the positions on Wednesday.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide