- Associated Press - Thursday, April 28, 2016

NEW YORK (AP) - Andrea Barrett, an acclaimed fiction writer best known for the story collection “Ship Fever,” has won a $30,000 honor for making a “significant contribution” to the art of short fiction.

Barrett, 61, is this year’s recipient of the Rea Award for the Short Story, prize organizers told The Associated Press on Thursday. She won the National Book Award in 1996 for “Ship Fever” and was a Pulitzer Prize finalist in 2003 for the collection “Servants of the Map.”

Rea judges noted that Barrett has set her stories in a wide range of places and historical periods and praised her for a style that “surprises and disturbs and gratifies.”

The Rea award was established in 1986. Previous winners include Eudora Welty, John Updike and Alice Munro.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide