- Associated Press - Monday, February 29, 2016

JACKSON, Miss. (AP) - Mississippi’s Stefan Moody and Mississippi State’s Gavin Ware and Quinndary Weatherspoon are the three finalists for this year’s Howell Trophy, which is given to the state’s top men’s college basketball player.

Mississippi State’s Victoria Vivians, Ole Miss’ Shandricka Sessom and Delta State’s Chelsea Rhodes are the three finalists for the Gillom Trophy, which is given to the top women’s player.

Moody and Vivians will be trying to win their respective trophies in back-to-back seasons.

Moody, a 5-foot-10 senior, is leading the Southeastern Conference with 22.8 points per game.

Vivians, a 6-foot-1 sophomore, is leading No. 16 Mississippi State (24-6, 11-5 SEC) with 16.7 points per game.

The winners will be announced March 7 at the Mississippi Sports Hall of Fame and Museum. The award is sponsored by C Spire Wireless.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide