- Associated Press - Friday, March 11, 2016

OKLAHOMA CITY (AP) - Gov. Mary Fallin is appealing the Federal Emergency Management Agency’s denial of individual assistance for residents and businesses in nine eastern Oklahoma counties hit by a winter storm.

The storm began Dec. 26 and brought ice, sleet and flooding to the region. Fallin says 122 homes were destroyed and 118 more were damaged.

FEMA approved public assistance for 41 counties in Oklahoma in addition to individual assistance in neighboring Missouri and Arkansas while denying individual assistance in Adair, Cherokee, Delaware, Mayes, McCurtain, Muskogee, Ottawa, Pushmataha and Sequoyah counties.

Fallin says she doesn’t understand how neighboring states qualified while the Oklahoma counties were turned down.

An individual assistance declaration would make renters and home and business owners eligible for assistance with housing repairs, temporary housing and disaster unemployment payments.

Sign up for Daily Newsletters

Manage Newsletters

Copyright © 2020 The Washington Times, LLC.

Please read our comment policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide