- Associated Press - Thursday, May 12, 2016

VIENNA (AP) - Austria coach Marcel Koller announced no new names Thursday in his preliminary 24-man squad for next month’s European Championship.

“We rely on the proven team,” said Koller, who will drop one player after a friendly game with Malta in Klagenfurt on May 31, the deadline for submitting his final squad of 23 to UEFA.

Koller’s choices include only two players from Austrian clubs - Austria Vienna goalkeeper Robert Almer and Salzburg midfielder Valentino Lazaro - while Bayern Munich midfielder David Alaba leads a legion of 16 players from Germany’s first and second divisions.

Four-time international Lazaro was the only surprise name as he had not been called up since October 2014.

Koller was reluctant to explain why he dropped Nuremberg midfielder Guido Burgstaller in favor of Lazaro, other than saying the Salzburg player “can play several positions.”

Austria, which co-hosted the competition in 2008 but has qualified for the first time, will prepare for the tournament during an eight-day training camp in Switzerland. Four days after hosting Malta, Austria plays the Netherlands in Vienna in its final warm-up game.

Defender Aleksandar Dragovic and striker Marc Janko have been out injured but were expected to be fit in time for the training camp, which starts May 22.

Austria is in a group with Hungary, Portugal and Iceland at the June 10-July 10 tournament in France.


Austria squad:

Goalkeepers: Robert Almer (Austria Vienna), Heinz Lindner (Eintracht Frankfurt), Ramazan Oezcan (Ingolstadt)

Defenders: Aleksandar Dragovic (Dynamo Kiev), Christian Fuchs (Leicester), Gyoergy Garics (Darmstadt), Martin Hinteregger (Moenchengladbach), Florian Klein (Stuttgart), Sebastian Proedl (Watford), Markus Suttner (Ingolstadt), Kevin Wimmer (Tottenham)

Midfielders: David Alaba (Bayern Munich), Marko Arnautovic (Stoke), Julian Baumgartlinger (Mainz), Martin Harnik (Stuttgart), Stefan Ilsanker (Leipzig), Jakob Jantscher (Luzern), Zlatko Junuzovic (Werder Bremen), Valentino Lazaro (Salzburg), Marcel Sabitzer (Leipzig), Alessandro Schoepf (Schalke)

Forwards: Lukas Hinterseer (Ingolstadt), Rubin Okotie (1860 Munich), Marc Janko (FC Basel)

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times is switching its third-party commenting system from Disqus to Spot.IM. You will need to either create an account with Spot.im or if you wish to use your Disqus account look under the Conversation for the link "Have a Disqus Account?". Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide