- Associated Press - Sunday, May 15, 2016

COLUMBUS, Ohio (AP) - DIVISION II, newspapers with a daily circulation of 8,000 to 12,999

General Excellence: 1, The (Newark) Advocate ; 2, The (Massillon) Independent; 2, The Athens Messenger; 3, The (Bowling Green) Sentinel-Tribune.

Best Headline Writer: 1, Ann Kamody, The Athens Messenger; 2, Bellefontaine Examiner; 3, Marty Greenstein, The (Massillon) Independent.

Best Business Writer: 1, Kent Mallett, The (Newark) Advocate, “Longaberger Turmoil”; 2, Dave Gossett, Steubenville Herald-Star; 3, Joe Higgins, The Athens Messenger.

Best Columnist: 1, Joe Higgins, The Athens Messenger; 2, Summer Wallace-Minger, Steubenville Herald-Star; 3, Tyler Buchanan, The Athens Messenger.

Best Editorial Writer: 1, Doug Drexler, The (Celina) Daily Standard; 2, Michael Shearer, The (Newark) Advocate; 3, Dorma J. Tolson, Lisbon Morning Journal.

Best Feature Writer: 1, Tyler Buchanan, The Athens Messenger; 2, Patricia Ann Speelman, The Sidney Daily News; 3, Joel Mast, Bellefontaine Examiner.

Best Graphics Artist: 1, Greg Kohntopp, The (Massillon) Independent; 2, Rob Ghosh, Cleveland Jewish News; 3, Jon Larson, Cleveland Jewish News.

Best Sports Columnist: 1, Dave Weidig, The (Newark) Advocate; 2, Les Levine, Cleveland Jewish News; 3, Rick Noland, The Medina Gazette.

Best Sports Feature Writer: 1, Chris Easterling, The (Massillon) Independent; 2, Doug Haidet, Ashland Times-Gazette; 3, Rick Noland, The Medina Gazette.

Best Sports Writer: 1, Albert Grindle, The Medina Gazette; 2, Chris Rambo, Lisbon Morning Journal; 3, Chris Easterling, The (Massillon) Independent.

Best Photographer: 1, Enoch Wu, The (Bowling Green) Sentinel-Tribune; 2, Jessica Phelps, The (Newark) Advocate; 3, Chris Crook, Zanesville Times Recorder.

Best News Writer: 1, Joel Mast, Bellefontaine Examiner; 2, Shelley Grieshop, The (Celina) Daily Standard; 3, Reuben Mees, Bellefontaine Examiner.

Best Sports Enterprise: 1, Chris Slone, Portsmouth Daily Times, “The Unwavering Faith of Luke Keller”; 2, Dave Weidig, The (Newark) Advocate, “Mini Football, Major Decision”; 3, Thomas Schmeltz, The (Bowling Green) Sentinel-Tribune, “Falcon Focus.”

Best Special Sports Section: 1, Steubenville Herald-Star, “The Gridiron”; 2, Andrew Harner, Ashland Times-Gazette, “Special Delivery”; 3, Lisbon Morning Journal, “2015 Morning Journal High School Football Preview.”

Best Daily Sports Section: 1, The (Massillon) Independent; 2, Mike Brown, The (Alliance) Review; 3, Steubenville Herald-Star.

Best Illustration or Informational Graphic: 1, Greg Kohntopp, The (Massillon) Independent, “Putting the Pieces Together”; 2, Greg Kohntopp, The (Massillon) Independent, “Anatomy of a Road”; 3, Michael Lehmkuhle, The (Newark) Advocate, “Fire Department Staffing.”

Best News Photo: 1, J.D. Pooley, The (Bowling Green) Sentinel-Tribune, “Making it Out Alive”; 2, Glenn Dettman, The (Massillon) Independent, “Honor World War II Veteran”; 3, Luke Gronneberg, The Sidney Daily News, “Rain Drenches Shelby County.”

Best Feature Photo: 1, Jessica Phelps, The (Newark) Advocate, “Opening Night”; 2, J.D. Pooley, The (Bowling Green) Sentinel-Tribune, “Color-a-thon”; 3, Enoch Wu, The (Bowling Green) Sentinel-Tribune, “Walleye Fishing .”

Best Sports Photo: 1, Shane Flanigan, Zanesville Times Recorder, “Banners”; 2, Joe Pelletier, Ashland Times-Gazette, “High Jump at State”; 3, Jessica Phelps, The (Newark) Advocate, “Sidelines.”

Best Photo Story: 1, Jessica Phelps, The (Newark) Advocate, “Facing Cancer Head On”; 2, Chris Crook , Zanesville Times Recorder, “Church Closing”; 3, Shane Flanigan, Zanesville Times Recorder, “Distracted Driving.”

Best Video: 1, J.D. Pooley, The (Bowling Green) Sentinel-Tribune, “Toledo Zoo Opens Renovated Aquarium”; 2, Jessica Phelps, The (Newark) Advocate, “Newark Girls Basketball State Semifinals”; 3, Chelsea Shar, The (Alliance) Review, “Antique Fire Truck Arrives in Alliance.”

Best Public Service: 1, Emily Maddern and Anna Jeffries, The (Newark) Advocate, “Stacey Heath Cancer Series”; 2, Dave Gossett, Steubenville Herald-Star, “Prostitution in Steubenville”; 3, Lisbon Morning Journal, “Email Messages are Public Records, Too.”

Best Spot News Coverage: 1, Lisbon Morning Journal, “Teen killed in Head-on Crash”; 2, Reuben Mees, Bellefontaine Examiner, “Underage Drinking Party Homicide”; 3, Shelley Grieshop, The (Celina) Daily Standard, “Trooper Shoots, Kills Celina Man.”

Best Explanatory Reporting: 1, Hannah Sparling , The (Newark) Advocate, “Inappropriate School Employee Relationships “; 2, Bill Ryan, The (Bowling Green) Sentinel-Tribune, “Agriculture”; 3, Loren Genson, The Medina Gazette, “Shattered Dreams.”

Best Enterprise Reporting: 1, Joe Higgins, The Athens Messenger, “Diving into the Life of a Diver”; 2, Reuben Mees, Bellefontaine Examiner, “Sober Living”; 3, Bradley Parks, Zanesville Times Recorder, “Distracted Driving.”

Best Investigative Reporting: 1, Joel Mast, Bellefontaine Examiner, “Adriel Adrift”; 2, Sarah Hawley and Sarah Guinn, The Athens Messenger, “Hocking College”; 3, Anna Bisaro, The (Newark) Advocate, “Buckeye Lake.”

Best Full Page Design: 1, The (Newark) Advocate, “Woman Fighting Breast Cancer Learns Disease Has Spread”; 2, Jennifer Lyon, The Medina Gazette; 3, Ann Kamody, The Athens Messenger.

Best Digital Presence: 1, The (Newark) Advocate; 2, Cheryl Powers, The Athens Messenger; 3, The (Massillon) Independent.


Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide