- Associated Press - Wednesday, May 18, 2016

NEW YORK (AP) - Washington’s Brian MacLellan, Dallas’ Jim Nill and Pittsburgh’s Jim Rutherford are the finalists for the NHL General Manager of the Year Award.

Voting by the 30 club general managers and a panel of NHL executives, print and broadcast media at the conclusion of the second round determined the finalists announced Wednesday. The winner will be announced June 22 during the NHL Awards in Las Vegas.

MacLellan’s Capitals were a runaway winner of the Presidents’ Trophy as the NHL’s top regular-season club (56-18-8, 120 points). They lost to Pittsburgh in the second round of the playoffs.

The Stars reached the playoffs for the second time in Nill’s three seasons. They were eliminated by St. Louis in the second round. Rutherford’s Penguins rallied to finish the season 48-26-8.

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide