- Associated Press - Wednesday, May 18, 2016

NEW YORK (AP) - Saxophonists Wayne Shorter and Ben Webster and trombonist J.J. Johnson have been chosen as the 2016 inductees into Jazz at Lincoln Center’s Ertegun Jazz Hall of Fame.

Shorter is equally renowned as one of the greatest living jazz improvisers and composers. He was a member of Miles Davis’ Second Great Quintet in the 1960s and co-founded the jazz-rock fusion band Weather Report.

Webster was one of the preeminent Swing Era tenor saxophonists. He was known for his powerful solos and sensual ballad playing, notably with Duke Ellington’s Orchestra.

Johnson was a perennial jazz magazine poll winner who played a key role in demonstrating the trombone’s possibilities in modern jazz.

The inductees were announced late Tuesday and will be celebrated July 12-14 with special programs at JALC’s Dizzy’s Club Coca-Cola.




Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide