- Associated Press - Tuesday, November 1, 2016

ZURICH (AP) - Olympic gold medal-winning coach Silvia Neid is a contender to win a hat trick of FIFA awards as the best coach in women’s soccer.

Neid, who retired after leading Germany to a first Olympic title at the Rio de Janeiro Games, is among 10 nominees announced Tuesday by FIFA. She previously won the award for 2010 and 2013.

Pia Sundhage, who won in 2012 after her United States team won Olympic gold, is nominated for coaching Sweden to Olympic silver. U.S. coach Jill Ellis, who won the 2015 FIFA award, is on the 10-coach list, which includes five men.

Voting is by national team captains and coaches, selected media and an online fan poll.

FIFA says it will announce a three-person shortlist on Dec. 2.

The rebranded Best FIFA Awards ceremony is set for Jan. 9 in Zurich.



Philippe Bergeroo (France), Jill Ellis (United States), John Herdman (Canada), Silvia Neid (Germany), Vera Pauw (South Africa), Gerard Precheur (Lyon), Pia Sundhage (Sweden), Vadao (Brazil), Martina Voss-Tecklenburg (Switzerland), Thomas Woerle (Bayern Munich)

Copyright © 2018 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide