- Associated Press - Tuesday, November 1, 2016

DES MOINES, Iowa (AP) - President Barack Obama has approved a major disaster declaration for 19 Iowa counties because of storms and flooding in September and October.

That makes federal funding available to state and local government agencies and some nonprofit organizations.

The money will help perform emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms and flooding that occurred between Sept. 21 and Oct. 3.

The Federal Emergency Management Agency says additional designations may be made at a later date if requested by the state and warranted by the results of further damage assessments.

Most of the counties are in northeast and north-central Iowa but Des Moines County is southeast Iowa also is included.

Copyright © 2019 The Washington Times, LLC.

The Washington Times Comment Policy

The Washington Times welcomes your comments on Spot.im, our third-party provider. Please read our Comment Policy before commenting.


Click to Read More and View Comments

Click to Hide